On The Road

February 28, 2011 at 11:32 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

I happened to be looking through my copy of “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac looking for a good quote to animate for motion graphics and I wanted to share the most famous quote from the book :

AND something I noticed that came after :

I didn’t see them for about two weeks, during which time they cemented their relationship to fiendish allday-allnight-talk proportions.

(6)

Okay so first I realized I really really miss creative writing being a part of my life.  It’s like playing with the code of words in such a fun and personally associative way… its like metaphysical mindplay.

Hmm OMG okay I just had a crazy breakthrough hahaha what is to stop us from putting words or poetry or images or film in our mandala! Definitely its allowed 🙂

I was just about to make a joke about how if you feel up to it, your welcome to code your mandala!  Lol and then I realized I was really joking about COMPUTER code, and IN FACT I do LOVE many other types of codes and patterns!!! Like puzzles and paint (colors in that medium) and WORDS I love stories (sequences of words telling a narrative), nature’s scientifically and mathematically observed phenomena, umm even CLOTHES lol, etc.

OH sorry ok so my point of sharing the quotes lol was that I love the first one because it has so much energy and life with beautiful words, and that is how I feel 🙂

The second quote was to show how narrative can capture the dynamic of two unequal or lets just say unique parts come together to make a whole.  In the On the Road narrative, the parts were the two people who the narrator didn’t see for two weeks, and the whole took proportions of allday-allnight talks! 🙂 Ohmygosh!  More examples of these parts and proportions are listed in Stuart’s Blackboard lecture notes “Narrative Conventions – 7 Basic Plots” :

1. [wo]man vs. nature

2. [wo]man vs. man

3. [wo]man vs. the environment

4. [wo]man vs. machines/technology

5. [wo]man vs. the supernatural

6. [wo]man vs. self

7. [wo]man vs. god/religion

Narrative and words are so powerful because they capture all the human nuances – that you could never capture with numbers and generalizing infographics.  Both are good mediums for different things.  I guess narrative is good for letting people speak for themselves or to the personal viewpoint and details of the “individual”.  And dataviz is good for the collective voice of the information 🙂

With narrative you have an infinite amount of parts and proportions and dynamics in which they come together.  Of course there are patterns or basic plot conventions 😉 but we know the system allows for infinite variety and always a unique story unto itself each time.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

