Mark Rothko

March 2, 2011 at 7:02 am | Posted in research | 1 Comment

I just started researching about Mark Rothko in other class and I found out he committed suicide when he was 70s.
Whenever I encounter his colors, I feel something tense and shaking in confined rectangle spaces on canvas. His colors are enough to bring emotion from people I guess…
Here is his quote about simplicity and clarity!

“The progression of a painter’s work…will be toward clarity; toward the elimination of all obstacles between the painter and the idea, and between the idea and the observer…to achieve this clarity is, inevitably, to be understood.” –Mark Rothko




1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW. That was so CLEAR .. that I UNDERSTAND!!! LOLL no but Im super serious wow.. . that is REALLY something to keep in mind as an artist and human communicator…

    thank you HyeYoon , I don’t really know much about art history and I always heard his name, now I understand so much about him in just this one post i feel


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

